RSS

Bridesmaids

17 May

Yesterday I went to the movies (study break) with some girlfriends to see Bridesmaids. Even from the title, you can tell this film is not macho. However, producer, Judd Apatow is notorious for working with films that feature a majority of male cast members. These films include, Anchorman, The 40-year-old Virgin, Knocked Up, Superbad, and Pineapple Express.

 When I learned of this information I thought it would be quite interesting to see how he would deal with a mainly female cast and in what light they would be portrayed. After all, I think many men tend to lump all women together and fit them into stereotypes (not that women aren’t also guilty of this).

 The film focused on the main character Annie who was chosen as her best friend Lillian’s maid of honor. Annie is going through some financial and love trouble as she lost her business and her boyfriend all in one fell swoop. As many people know weddings are mad expensive and due to another one of Lillian’s friends, Helen, who has a lot of money to spend and keeps trying to “one up” Annie, Annie goes a little crazy trying to balance all of her maidenly duties.

 There were some really funny scenes (such as food poisoning during a gown fitting); however, I don’t think this film dug deep enough into the female psyche. There was almost a character for every female stereotype to be portrayed (the crazy one, the secret lesbian, the backstabbing bitch), but the development of these characters was lacking. For instance, I would have liked to see more of Annie and Lillian’s relationship when they were younger to get a sense of why they are how they are at present. I agree that the film was kind of like the female version of The Hangover but it seemed a little less realistic in my mind. If you’ve seen the film leave a comment and let me know what you thought!

 As an aside, I would just like to mention the numerous people I know who are getting engaged, including an old room mate (thankfully I won’t be in the wedding party, I don’t think I could handle that). I’m not sure why so many people are all set to get hitched but I would warn them that marriage is not something to just jump into and as this film shows, the process towards getting to the alter can be tedious and a little crazy.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on May 17, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

3 responses to “Bridesmaids

  1. skturpie

    May 18, 2011 at 1:00 am

    I’ve also noticed the engagement cluster phenomenon. I think that one engagement prompts other couples to think about the future of their own relationships.

     
  2. Rocks

    May 18, 2011 at 4:53 am

    My brother went to see this a few weeks ago when they were showing it in Hoff theater for free, and he couldn’t stop talking about how funny it was.

     
  3. Will Danger

    May 18, 2011 at 5:05 am

    I had to work at Maryland day this year, and there was an overwhelming number of young married couples walking around campus, toddler in tow, which I find a more terrifying image than any horror movie.

    Also, I haven’t seen the movie yet, but I am thrilled to see both Maya Rudolph and Kristin Wiig doing a movie. Neither gets enough recognition.

     

Leave a Reply

 
